Baio announces new album and shares new single PHILOSOPHY!


Vampire Weekend’s Chris Baio has announced that he will be releasing is second album this summer with the unveil of new single ‘PHILOSOPHY!’.

Built on an irresistible groove, first single “PHILOSOPHY!” is a deceptively buoyant breakup song chronicling a terminal failure of communication. Written amidst the false equivalencies, polarising fake news and gridlocked shouting matches that characterised political life in the last year, it’s about what we talk about when we are realising that philosophising is not powerful enough to change anyone’s mind.

Man Of The World is the follow-up to Baio’s 2015 full-length solo debut, ‘The Names’, which amassed critical praise The album’s single, ‘Sister of Pearl,‘ debuted on NBC’s Late Night With Seth Meyers, was a hit at US alternative radio and has been streamed nearly 10 million times on Spotify. A resident of London, Chris Baio is also the bass player of the Grammy-winning band Vampire Weekend.

Chris wrote much of ‘Man Of The World’ in the aftermath of 2016’s political events. Now resident in London, Chris found himself experiencing both the fall out from Brexit and Trump’s election in his native America at uniquely close quarters.

Speaking about the album, Chris says; “Writing ‘Man of the World’ was my way of processing 2016, a year that began with the death of my favorite artist, David Bowie, and ended with the greatest political disruption of my adult life – all while I was a nomad, an American living in London, touring two continents, never fully of either place.

“It’s partially about being trapped in my own head, obsessing about things it was too late to change, feeling afraid and guilty and alone. It’s also my attempt to document a certain sense of loss that felt both intensely personal and like part of a larger collective experience many were going through at once. ”

Baio’s ‘PHILOSOPHY!’ from his forthcoming sophomore solo album, Man of the World. Set for release on June 30th via Glassnote Records, the album was recorded in Brixton, London and co-produced by Chris Baio and John Foyle.

Track Listing:

1. Vin Mariani
2. The Key is Under the Mat
3. Out of Tune
5. Exquisite Interlude
7. Man of the World
8. Sensitive Guy
9. I’m Not Curious
10. Shame in My Name
11. Be Mine

Founder and Editor-in-Chief of ICM, full-time journalist, occasional photographer, Chelsea FC.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply