Massage release ‘Oh Boy’ ahead of debut LP


Los Angeles indie rock act Massage is an emerging outfit with jangly indie-pop and psychedelic soundscapes that echo similar vibes to Canadian outfit Alvvays and Mac Demarco.

The quintet is made up of guitarist/vocalist Alex Naidus, formerly of Pains of Being Pure at Heart, drummer Michael Felix, guitarist/vocalist Andrew Romano, bassist David Rager, and keyboardist/vocalist Gabrielle Ferrer.

The band has just released a music video for their new single ‘Oh Boy’ which was recorded over several weekends with Jason Quever of Papercuts.

Gabi Ferrer spoke about the single: “I’m an artist and I recently became interested in animation. I have been wanting to animate a music video for Massage for some time and thought “Oh Boy” would be a great fit.

“It’s mostly traditional hand-drawn animation, hundreds of distinct drawings, made with a graphite pencil and a few coloured pencils.

“I love Andrew’s lyrics because they’re a portrait of domestic quotidian, presented without judgment, that in the end speak to longing and inspire melancholy.

“So I drew my own version of domesticity and tried to illustrate the strange magic of the everyday presented through objects. And my cat, Cal. And snails.”

‘Oh Boy’ is out 7/27/18 on Tear Jerk Records. Pre-order is available now.

Track List:
1. Lydia
2. Oh Boy
3. Gee
4. Kevin’s Coming Over
5. Couldn’t Care Less
6. Under
7. Breaking Up
8. Crying Out Loud
9. Cleaners
10. Liar
11. I’m Trying
12. At Your Door

Founder and Editor-in-Chief of ICM, full-time journalist, occasional photographer, Chelsea FC.

Leave a Reply