Hozier announces much-anticipated sophomore album


Multi-platinum singer-songwriter, Hozier, has announced his much-anticipated new album Wasteland, Baby! set for release this Spring.

The album also follows Hozier’s recent ‘Nina Cried Power’ EP, which features multi-Grammy award-winning artist and performer Mavis Staples and instrumentation by renowned Grammy Life Time Achievement Award recipient Booker T. Jones.

The title track of the EP also opens Wasteland, Baby! and has already proved incredibly successful for Hozier. Barack Obama included the song in his favourite songs of 2018 playlist and the track was the subject of the Song Exploder podcast’s first episode of 2019.

“I’m thrilled to announce my new album Wasteland, Baby! The album has been over a year in the making and it’s a pleasure to finally turn out my pockets and share the work. I want to sincerely thank fans and listeners for their continued support in between the records. See you out on the road soon.” – Hozier

Current single ‘Movement’ is another key track on Wasteland, Baby! In just two months the track has been streamed over 20.8 million times and has fast become a firm fan favourite at Hozier’s live shows.

Following the success of his most recent UK tour, Hozier is set to announce the European leg of the upcoming global Wasteland, Baby! tour with dates scheduled throughout the rest of 2019. Full tour dates and cities will be announced next month.

Wasteland, Baby! is the follow up to Hozier’s critically acclaimed self–titled debut album, which has now amassed over 2.1 billion streams on Spotify alone, while his total, global Spotify Playlist reach currently sits at over 71 million. The album has sold over 850 thousand copies in the UK, going platinum in the process, while the record has sold 4 million copies worldwide.

Wasteland, Baby! is released on March 1 on Island Records.

Full tracklisting below.

1 – Nina Cried Power (featuring Mavis Staples)
2 – Almost (Sweet Music)
3 – Movement
4 – No Plan
5 – Nobody
6 – To Noise Making (Sing)
7 – As It Was
8 – Shrike
9 – Talk Refined
10 – Be
11 – Dinner & Diatribes
12 – Would That I
13 – Sunlight
14 – Wasteland, Baby!

Founder and Editor-in-Chief of ICM, full-time journalist, occasional photographer, Chelsea FC.