Watford’s finest The Spitfires drop third album this week

News
The Spitfires

Watford-based quartet The Spitfires have now announced their third album, Year Zero and will also be embarking on yet another extensive nationwide UK and Ireland tour in 2018/19.

Taking in a wide range of influences, from reggae and ska through to punk and soul, this melting-pot of musical genres has helped infuse and consolidate the band’s own highly authentic sound and style into a progressive take for a new generation of fans.

On the new release, Sullivan’s song writing sees him exploring new soundscapes and styles whilst still retaining his deep love for ska, soul and guitar-driven music. “I think Year Zero is our most confident and complete work to date,” explains frontman Billy Sullivan of the new material.

“I feel like we captured exactly what we were looking for in terms of the sound, and lyrically I think it sums up the overall feeling of where we are today and the uncertainty of our generation’s future.

“Over a year in the making and with the addition of trombone and a guest female singer, I feel really we’ve been able to reach new heights on this record.”

To date, The Spitfires have released two albums; Response was released in 2015 and A Thousand Times in 2016. Both albums peaked at Number 6 in the Independent charts and also dented the national Top 75.

The Spitfires also hit Number 1 in the UK Vinyl Singles Chart with ‘So Long’ back in April 2016.

Year Zero be released through Hatch Records on Friday 27th July 2018. Find the tour dates below.

The Spitfires 2018/19 Live Dates:

Fri 05 Oct – Southend, Chinnerys
Sat 06 Oct – Norwich, Arts Centre
Fri 02 Nov – Dover, Booking Hall
Sat 03 Nov – Brighton, Patterns
Fri 09 Nov – Leamington Spa, Zephyr Lounge
Sat 10 Nov – London, Islington Assembly Hall
Thu 15 Nov – Birmingham, Hare & Hounds
Fri 16 Nov – Glasgow, Broadcast
Sat 17 Nov – Edinburgh, Mash House
Fri 23 Nov – Bristol, Fiddlers
Sat 24 Nov – Exeter, Cavern
Thu 29 Nov – Newcastle, Cluny
Fri 30 Nov – Carlisle, Old Fire Station
Fri 07 Dec – Leeds, Hi Fi Club
Sat 08 Dec – Northampton, Roadmender
Fri 25 Jan – Belfast, Limelight 2
Sat 26 Jan – Dublin, Workman’s Club
Fri 08 Feb – Sheffield, Plug
Sat 09 Feb – Manchester, Gorilla
Fri 15 Feb – Hull, Fruit
Sat 16 Feb – York, Fibbers
Fri 22 Feb – Cardiff, The Globe
Sat 23 Feb – Liverpool, O2 Academy 2

The Spitfires are: Billy Sullivan on lead vocals and guitar, Sam Long on Bass/backing vocals, Matt Johnson on drums and George Moorhouse on keyboards.

Leave a Reply