The Modern Strangers

EP Review: The Modern Strangers – ‘Meltdown Mechanics’

Since The Modern Strangers were featured as our Artist Spotlight this time last year, the bands indie pop has got a whole lot funkier.

Releasing their debut EP, ‘Meltdown Mechanics’ this month through their own Hoolay Records, the four-track EP features lead single and EP title track ‘Meltdown Mechanics’, previous singles, ‘Nothing on You’ and ‘She’s so Cold’ and another brand new track ‘One Of My Mistakes’.

Opening track ‘She’s So Cold’s’ and ‘One of My Mistakes’ electronic drenched production pulls away from the typical indie-pop and adds an electronic dance beat and hazy vocal manage to add a lovely layer of uplifting warmth to the tracks.

Nothing on You’ almost sounded like the intro to a Flight of the Conchords song, then it kicks in. A catchy hook that’s reminiscent of 90s alt-pop and Britpop before delving into the band’s funky vibes they’re becoming so well known for.

Lead single ‘Meltdown Mechanics’ really changes tempo from their previous releases slowing things right down with this moody ballad.

Fronted by brothers Max & Archie Davenport, Max explains, “Meltdown Mechanics was written late last year, it’s far slower than anything we’ve released to date and when we got the first mix back we knew it had to close our debut EP.

“The song is about that turbulent time at the end of a relationship/the beginning of a break-up.”

Going further to talk about the EP release he says, “Up to this point we’ve been releasing tracks as stand-alone singles.

“Whilst we enjoy doing that we’ve also wanted to put something out that could show a little more of what we’re about.

“We’ve written a lot of songs in the past year and these are 4 from that bunch that we felt worked well together and hopefully give people as much enjoyment as we’ve had writing them!”

The brothers head out on tour in September, check out the dates below.

September European Tour

17 – Amsterdam, Sugarfactory
19 – Antwerp, Kafka
20 – Berlin, Badehaus
21 – Cologne, Yuca
23 – Paris, 1999
25 – London, Electrowerkz
26 – Bristol, Louisiana
27 – Manchester, Soup Kitchen
28 – Glasgow, The Garage (Attic Bar)

Have your say!