The Districts Release Two New Tracks: ‘Salt’ & ‘Violet’

Indie rock band from Pennsylvania, The Districts, have dropped two more tracks in preparation for the release of their third album, ‘Popular Manipulations’, which comes out on the 11th of August. The band was formed in 2009 by Rob Grote, Mark Larson, Connor Jacobus, and Braden Lawrence who, at the time, were still in high school. By the end of 2012, the band released their debut album, ‘Telephone’, however, it wasn’t until 2015 that they were signed to current record label, Fat Possum Records.

The first of the two songs to be released was ‘Violet’. The song opens with a high-tempo drum beat and synth sounds with random explosions of that same beat throughout. The song presents the ideas of possessiveness and dependency whilst reflecting upon the strangeness of ‘needing’ someone as a romantic partner which is commonly spoken about in the lyrics of many modern songs. The random explosions of sound followed by immediate repression complements the message portrayed within the lyrics perfectly.

The second song, ‘Salt’, was released just days later. ‘Salt’ has a slightly calmer sound to it resulting from the mellow guitar melodies. The song gradually builds right up until the last verse where an intense drum beat is introduced, flawlessly bringing this piece to a close. The lyrics to this song are very reflective with singer Rob Grote singing “I thought you were hopeful / The last of a glow”.

The Districts are currently part-through their world tour to celebrate the release of their new album. See their list of UK tour dates below:

25/08 – Reading, UK – Reading Festival
26/08 – Leeds, UK – Leeds Festival
27/08 – Hull, UK – Fruit
29/08 – Newcastle, UK – Cluny
30/08 – Edinburgh, UK – Caves
31/08 – Glasgow, UK – King Tuts
02/09 – Bristol, UK – The Downs
03/09 – Cambridge, UK – Portland Arms
05/09 – Nottingham, UK – The Bodega
06/09 – Manchester, UK – Gorilla
07/09 – Cardiff, UK – Clwb Ifor Bach
11/09 – Brighton, UK – Haunt

Have your say!